CardlistsList RulingsPrint Rulings


Conundrum

2012-12-19

If opponent has no doorway that allows the seeding of AU dilemmas, or if there is no valid target ship (see below), discard dilemma and continue to next. Otherwise: If crew meets conditions (INTEGRITY>40), discard dilemma and continue to next. If not, place dilemma on ship; ship and crew are “stopped”. Immediately, target an opponent's ship; once “unstopped,” your ship and crew must chase and attack target. (Your other ships present may not assist in attack.). You may not target a cloaked, phased, or landed ship, or a ship in a Temporal Rift or Time Travel Pod (they are invalid targets). You may change targets at any time. If selected target at any time becomes invalid or leaves play, you must target a different ship. Discard dilemma after attacking a target ship, or if at any time there is no valid target in play. A ship in another quadrant or at a time location is a valid target even if you have no way to get there (if there is a way to get there, e.g. a Bajoran Wormhole, you must attempt to use it.) If the target is in another quadrant with no way for your ship to get there, your ship may not initiate actions until the target is on the same spaceline or a means to get to the other quadrant is made avalible, at which point it must resume its chase. If the target is at a time location, your ship must move to the corresponding spaceline location and then is unable to take actions until the target is on the same spaceline, at which point it must resume its chase. (This is a “moving required action”; see “actions - required” in Glossary for rules. Overrides Borg attack restrictions.)If there is no valid target ship (see below), discard dilemma and continue to next. Otherwise: If crew meets conditions (INTEGRITY>40), discard dilemma and continue to next. If not, place dilemma on ship; ship and crew are “stopped”. Immediately, target an opponent's ship; once “unstopped,” your ship and crew must chase and attack target. (Your other ships present may not assist in attack.). You may not target a cloaked, phased, or landed ship, or a ship in a Temporal Rift or Time Travel Pod (they are invalid targets). You may change targets at any time. If selected target at any time becomes invalid or leaves play, you must target a different ship. Discard dilemma after attacking a target ship, or if at any time there is no valid target in play. Battle must be initiated to end the effects of Conundrum. As such, Cards that prevent the initiation of a battle (e.g. Nebula or Strategema) prevent the fulfillment of the attack requirement of the card.(This is a “moving required action”; see “actions - required” in Glossary for rules. Overrides Borg attack restrictions.)

Applicable Cards: Conundrum;