What's New Dashboard Articles Forums Achievements Tournaments Player Map The Promenade Volunteers About Us Site Index
Second Edition
CardlistsList RulingsPrint Rulings

Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7
Double-Sided Missions 2020-08-19
Double-sided missions count as one of your 5 different missions. If the mission had different titles on each side, both sides must be different from your other missions. If either side of the mission is a headquarters mission, that mission does not count towards your minimum of 2 non-headquarters mission. Some missions have two sides: a front side and a reverse side. The reverse side of a mission shares collector info with the front side of the mission, with the addition of an asterisk (*). Double-sided missions begin play front-side up, and may flip over during the course of the game. Only the face-up side is considered to be in play. When a mission flips over, all cards to, at, or beneath that mission remain unless the mission states otherwise. You may not flip a mission if doing so results in commanding a mission you could not otherwise command. For example, you cannot flip a mission from a non-headquarters side to a headquarters side if you command Unicomplex, Root of the Hive Mind, which states that you may not command another headquarters mission.

Frame of Mind 2017-11-07
If multiple copies of the same unique personnel are revealed, the player facing the dilemma chooses which copy enters play. "Duplicates" refers to extra copies of unique personnel that enter play in this step. Revealed copies of unique personnel they had already in play before this step are unaffected by this text (because none of them can enter play) and will be placed on the bottom of the deck with the other revealed cards. The player facing the dilemma also chooses the order in which they place cards on the bottom of their deck in each step.

Naming a Number 2017-06-06
When a player names a number, he or she must choose zero or a positive integer.

Examining a Card 2016-11-02

When a card instructs you to "examine" a card or set of cards, the examined cards do not change location until and unless a card instructs you to change their locations.

Example: If you play The Pillage of Bajor, the examined cards are still considered to be the top cards of your deck. If you choose to discard Tajor using The Pillage of Bajor's text, Tajor is considered to have been discarded from the top of your deck and you may place him at your Cardassia Prime.

Set Up 2016-09-19
When this event's text is used on a random selection involving more than one personnel, the player using Set Up chooses one personnel to be included in the selection, then the remainder of that random selection occurs as usual (multiple copies would each select one personnel to be included). A random selection that chooses more than one personnel is executed as a single action; Set Up triggers before any selections are made.

Example: Cliff attempts a mission with six personnel, and Sara commands Set Up in her core. Sara chooses dilemmas and forms her dilemma stack, revealing Becalmed first. Set Up's trigger occurs when Becalmed is about to select three personnel. Sara reveals her Infiltrator personnel at that mission, then destroys Set Up to pay its cost, choosing one personnel from among all six. Cliff then shuffles the remaining personnel, and two more are selected randomly to fulfill the dilemma's instructions.

One-Time Broadcast Abilities 2016-09-19
When an ability is used, it will only affect personnel in play at that time. If you gain command of more personnel during that turn, the effect is not retroactively applied to them.

Example: Temporal Flux Energy Ribbon is placed on Karyn Archer's location. At the start of the player's turn who commands her, he or she chooses to remove her from the game to fulfill TFER's text. Karyn Archer's ability triggers, and all of that player's [SF] personnel that he or she currently commands are attributes +2. That player then plays Gannet Brooks, but Gannet is not attributes +2 because she was not in play when Karyn's ability triggered.

Alpha 5 Approach 2016-05-02

This mission does not list any specific skills in its printed requirements. When another card's gametext references its requirements, no specific skills may be named, chosen, gained, subtracted or required based upon TCS's requirements, because no specific skills are printed in its gametext. Only cards which copy the requirements of the mission completely (i.e. Lack of Preparation or War Games) may reference its requirements.

TCS also cannot trigger gametext that references specific skills in its requirements, such as a "mission requiring Biology", as Biology is not printed in its requirements. While it does require 16 different skills, it is not considered to require any specific skill because none are printed in its default requirements.

When a skill requirement is added to TCS's requirements, it is treated separately from the printed 16 skill requirement. Since the mission requires players to select the 16 different skills used at the time of completion, should a player select one of the appended skills as part of their 16, TCS will now require two of that skill.

Example: If Player A were to play Spatial Reconfiguration on TCS and name “Delphic Expanse” and then name the same when playing Wixiban, he would be unable to gain skills from the mission because none are printed in its requirements.

Example: If Player A is attempting TCS with Cargo Run on it, Acquisition must be either one of the 16 different skills used to meet TCS's requirements (in which case he or she would need a 2nd Acquisition for Cargo Run), or Player A must have an Acquisition to meet Cargo Run's requirements without using that Acquisition to meet TCS's requirement of 16 different skills.

Changing Number of Complete Missions 2016-04-26

When a mission is completed, a player scores points from completing that mission. If that mission subsequently becomes incomplete again, the player does not lose the points scored from completing that mission. Likewise, if a player uses non-mission gametext to increase the number of completed missions they command, that player does not score points for those missions. In these circumstances, the number of completed missions and a player's score independently change values.

Ripple Effect plays on a completed mission. If that mission is subsequently uncompleted, the text of Ripple Effect will be unaffected (its owner would still be considered to command another completed mission of its type). However, if that mission were to change type (space-to-planet or planet-to-space), the type of additional completed mission provided by Ripple Effect will change with it. The requirement to play Ripple Effect is a one-time check when it is played; its effect is continuous.

Ripple Effect does not copy the characteristics (other than type) of a mission it is attached to. (i.e. quadrant, region)

Ancient Grudge 2016-03-09
If your opponent cannot choose sufficient personnel from your discard pile when you play this interrupt (i.e., your discard pile is empty), you will be unable to pay the cost of Ancient Grudge's effect, and the event that your opponent played will not be prevented as a result.

Substituting for a Headquarters 2015-11-17

Cards that substitute for the functions normally performed at a headquarters mission (like Finding Our Way or To Rule In Hell) do not count as "a headquarters where that personnel could be played."

Example: If Player A commands U.S.S. Voyager and Finding Our Way and his opponent plays Common Ground, Player A will not be able to place a personnel on U.S.S. Voyager. While Finding Our Way would allow placement aboard Voyager when resolving more generic text like Worn-Out Welcome, it cannot be considered by Common Ground's gametext to be a "headquarters mission where that personnel could be played."