Discuss all of your questions, concerns, comments and ideas about Second Edition.

By Marquetry
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
2E North American Continental Quarter-Finalist 2023
It does, however it happens later in the turn with Caretaker's/Finding Our Way. Those end up downloading the ship in the order phase, so you end up not being able to play a ship (and therefor personnel) until your 2nd turn- unless you get lucky and have it in your opening hand, or a Christening if using that event.

With the mission, you can download the ship at the start of your turn, so it can be played that first turn as well. It helps overcome that first 'wasted' turn that frequently happens in Voyager/Equinox decks.
Executive Officer
By jadziadax8 (Maggie Geppert)
 - Executive Officer
 -  
2E North American Continental Semi-Finalist 2023
ibbles  Trek Masters Tribbles Champion 2023
2E Deep Space 9 Regional Champion 2023
Sikkukut wrote: Tue Oct 12, 2021 5:29 pm Absolute noob here, trying to understand something...

I saw several Caretaker articles talking about Plasma Storm Depths, Search for Missing Vessel as an important new tool for [Voy] decks to make sure they have Voyager/Equinox on turn 1, but... doesn't Caretaker's Array + Finding Our Way already do that?
Hi and welcome!

The benefit of Plasma Storm Depths is that it allows you to download a [Voy] ship during the Play and Draw phase, as long as you discard the cards. You can then play Voyager (or Equinox) on your first turn.

Finding Our Way's download of a ship is an Order, which happens after the Play and Draw Phase, so while you will be guaranteed to have Voyager in hand on turn 1, you won't be able to play it until turn 2. This is why Voyager has the text on it allowing you to place two personnel aboard when you play it, to make up for the fact that you usually can't play any personnel on turn 1.

Marquetry beat me to it, no surprise. :-D

By Sikkukut
 -