It all starts at home: local tournaments, local players. Keep track of events in your region, adjacent regions, and around the globe in this forum.

By Se7enofMine (ChadC)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Hey gang,

So a few months ago, before I got sick, I contacted all the players in my region about starting a playgroup. A couple of people have responded.

Now that I'm back in the saddle, just looking for some ideas, suggestions, recommendations by experienced organizers out there. On anything really.

I'm leaving it purposefully open ended as I've never done this before. But ideas on

Choosing a location
Getting an event sanctioned
Arranging prize support

Etc etc. Anything that can help :)

Thanks a bunch.

By Jono (Sean O'Reilly)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Pioneer
Se7enofMine wrote:Hey gang,

So a few months ago, before I got sick, I contacted all the players in my region about starting a playgroup. A couple of people have responded.

Now that I'm back in the saddle, just looking for some ideas, suggestions, recommendations by experienced organizers out there. On anything really.

I'm leaving it purposefully open ended as I've never done this before. But ideas on

Choosing a location
Getting an event sanctioned
Arranging prize support

Etc etc. Anything that can help :)

Thanks a bunch.
I would suggest a sealed event first. Easiest way to do that in 1E is OTSD (with a extra pack or two); in 2E you can still get a Second Edition combo box for a reasonable price.

Find a location that is central to most people with food options nearby.

What our TD in Orlando does is collect money for the tournament for prize support (we pay extra for sealed events). You might have to supply prize support for the first event - but you can buy TD prize support after running one event.

Other items than can be good for prizes are sleeves, booster packs and card mats.
Ambassador
By bosskamiura (Thomas Kamiura)
 - Ambassador
 -  
Community Contributor