Timo wrote:Good question. Federation Flagship: Recovered and Borg Cube.
My understanding is that earned point box cards are diverted to the point area as they go to the discard. It seems like you are right, the Borg Cube goes straight to FFR instead of going to the discard so it never has a chance to end up in opponent's point area. From the glossary description in Borg: Borg-Affiliation Ships, it says the points are earned by opponent when they destroy it in battle. So, it sounds like they already got the points even if the card ends up on FFR.
But I'm not 100% sure about this. Should wait for a ruling from pfti or a rules guru.
I agree with this. Putting the card in the point area happens as a result of earning the points, it's not a condition for earning the points in this case.
Glossary wrote:bonus point area – When you score points from any non-mission card with a point box, that card (unless it remains on a target or otherwise specifies that it stays in play to score the points) is placed in a bonus point area near your discard pile, as a reminder of those points, even if the card says to discard it.
I'd argue that FFR makes the ship "remain on a target," or if nothing else overrides where the ship normally goes. Then when FFR is discarded, the ship also goes to the discard pile because the points have already been scored and the window for relocating to the point area has passed.
Another fun question is how FFR works with Ultimatum
, since both are actions that happen "just" after a ship is destroyed. (And Ultimatum DOES require placing the ship in the point area to score points.) I imagine something like this happens:
- The Dominion player probably destroyed the ship during his/her turn, so Ultimatum resolves first. Dom player places ship in point area and scores points.
- Then FFR resolves, placing the ship on itself. The points have already been scored for Ultimatum, so relocating it afterward doesn't undo those points.
Is there anything wrong with this interpretation? Is there anything problematic with relocating a card after it's already been relocated?
This would be so much easier if FFR just relocated the crew to itself and not the ship.