This forums is for questions, answers, and discussion about First Edition rules, formats, and expansions.
 
By Slayer07
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#553491
So just to make sure I'm right about this if Will Riker is present with Galen as long as Will Riker is Non-Aligned, he and Galen can work together but if I switch Will Riker to Federation Galen will no longer work with him correct?

Will Riker should work with Seven of Nine as long as she is Non-Aligned, but if I switch Seven to Federation then he will no longer work with her correct?

Also (perhaps theoretical here I can't remember if there is a card that does this) if there was an effect that stopped Federation personnel from attempting a mission does this only apply to cards like Will Riker if they are in Federation Mode or does the very fact they have the Federation affiliation icon on them to start with prohibit them from attempting that mission regardless of which mode they are in?

Thanks for the time all.
User avatar
 
By winterflames (Derek Marlar)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#553494
From "does not work with" in the glossary
does not work with
A card that "does not work with" a particular group (affiliation, species, specific skills) cannot mix or cooperate with cards of that group in any way, in the same way that cards of incompatible affiliations cannot work together without a treaty (see compatible). For example:

Lore "Does not work with [Fed] affiliation." He doesn't mix with [Fed] personnel, cannot board a [Fed] ship, and cannot report to or board a [Fed] facility.
Miles O'Brien "does not work with Cardassians." He doesn't mix or cooperate with personnel of Cardassian species or affiliation, even under treaty. If he is aboard your ship, it cannot assist another of your ships in battle if it has Cardassians aboard.
If a personnel is inadvertently placed in a situation where they are mixing with cards that they "cannot work with," they will form a separate Away Team or (on your ship or facility) be placed under house arrest. For example, Solkar "does not work with personnel who have Treachery." If your opponent boarded your ship and played Reflection Therapy on one of your crew to give them Treachery, Solkar would be placed under house arrest. You may not deliberately place your personnel in such a situation.

"Does not work with" restrictions that are completely affiliation-based are overcome by any card that allows incompatible cards to mix, such as Release This Pain, Brainwash, or an appropriate Treaty.
And from the multi affiliation section of the rulebook:
However, you may never change a card's affiliation in such a way that it causes your personnel aboard your ship or facility to become incompatible. For example, if you have Koral (The Next Generation) in [NA] Non-Aligned mode aboard the H.M.S. Bounty in [Fed] mode, surrounded by a crew of other [Fed] personnel, you may not change Koral to [Kli] mode, since this would make him incompatible with his shipmates. Similarly, you may not change the H.M.S. Bounty to [Kli] mode, since this would make many of the crew incompatible with it.
And then in the sidebar:
If not on board your ship or facility, you may change the affiliation of a multi-affiliation personnel, even if it causes incompatibility. The newly-incompatible personnel simply leaves his or her current Away Team and forms a separate one.
And therefore, the inactive affiliation of a multi-affiliation personnel in play is not looked at while they are in play (for non-fed crew/AT)
 
By patrick (Patrick Weijers)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#553497
winterflames wrote: Sat May 08, 2021 11:28 amMiles O'Brien "does not work with Cardassians." He doesn't mix or cooperate with personnel of Cardassian species or affiliation, even under treaty.
What happens if you have a treaty, and there is a non-cardassian [Car] . Will Miles O'Brien still not work with them? (Like Investigator Odo, Crell Moset (species: Hologram) or one of the multi-affiliation people in Cardassian-mode.
User avatar
 
By Keiimaster (Mathew McCalpin)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#553499
patrick wrote: Sat May 08, 2021 12:33 pm
winterflames wrote: Sat May 08, 2021 11:28 amMiles O'Brien "does not work with Cardassians." He doesn't mix or cooperate with personnel of Cardassian species or affiliation, even under treaty.
What happens if you have a treaty, and there is a non-cardassian [Car] . Will Miles O'Brien still not work with them? (Like Investigator Odo, Crell Moset (species: Hologram) or one of the multi-affiliation people in Cardassian-mode.
The answer is in the quote...

Miles O'Brien "does not work with Cardassians." He doesn't mix or cooperate with personnel of Cardassian species or affiliation, even under treaty.

Unlike Will Riker who says "Does not work with other [Fed] affiliation personnel.", Miles O'Brien says "does not work with Cardassians" as opposed to " [Car] personnel". If it has said [Car] personnel, then the Treaty would allow him to cooperate with Investigator Odo and Crell Moset, etc. "

"Does not work with" restrictions that are completely affiliation-based are overcome by any card that allows incompatible cards to mix, such as Release This Pain, Brainwash, or an appropriate Treaty."

The difference here is that Miles work restriction is not completely affiliation-based.
Stupid Trek Jokes and Memes

And boy did it stick. Can confirm.

Selling Fake Star Trek Cards

There's also the question of trademarks to conside[…]

Well, Transporter Mixup is not a very heavi[…]

1EFQ: Correcting inaccuracies

I know all of us nerds are extremely keen to get[…]