geraldkw wrote: ↑Mon May 17, 2021 11:06 am
BCSWowbagger wrote: ↑Mon May 17, 2021 2:15 am
Here's the thread. We actually never got an answer.
geraldkw wrote: ↑Mon May 17, 2021 1:53 am
I think it was ruled you can't do the ASP thing but you can download the Defiant and then download your support personnel to the Defiant. That costs a card play obviously but gets you a good ship.
You might be thinking of the You Know I'd Like To Help ruling. I can't recall a ruling on Trust the Prophets and ASP. If it's out there, though, I'd be pretty grateful if you dug it up and posted the link.
I'm about to watch Foyle's War, and my first job tomorrow is to work on Project Quarantine rules, so I can't tell you the correct answer to this question right now with certainty -- but I'm watching the discussion with interest!
EDIT: Agree it was probably unwise to use the extra verbiage. It came from Docking Pylons, though, and Rules finds it very helpful and safe to follow precedents, so I get how it happened.
viewtopic.php?f=310&t=41679&p=517497&hi ... ws#p517497
So my question was already asked and sort of answered in this old thread. The fundamental question here is "Does ASP care about the game text on the site to report to it?" I don't think it does because ASP gives you the location to DL to.
Forgetting all the stuff about Feds and matching and trust the prophets...
Can I DL Beyor, a [baj] Civilian support personnel, to Ops with ASP? If Yes, the text on the site really doesn't matter and I'm not reporting that personnel for any purpose related to the site.
If no, then I need to download Beyor to the Promenade shops because the shops text says Civilians can report there, and now that personnel reported for a purpose related to the site.
For the record I think it is the former because I'm not aware of any rule that says if a card gives you a location for a download, and a Nor is an option, that that personnel has to obey reporting requirements of the sites.
Likewise if I use the
on Sarish Rez to DL First Minister Shakaar, and Rez is on a ship a the same location of DS9, Shakaar can go anywhere he can normally exist at the same location as Rez. He can go to the ship, any site, to the planet if there is one there... because the
rule says "here", and ASP likewise gives you a location, a matching facility.