This forums is for questions, answers, and discussion about First Edition rules, formats, and expansions.
 
By jquam
 - New Member
 -  
#562870
I hope someone out there will be understanding of a question from someone getting back into the game after many years away...

As I understand it, personnel who are native to a particular time location can be reported as normal if you have an Alternate Universe Door (or Space-Time Portal, etc.). Why would you go to the trouble of reporting them to their native location and then time-traveling them to the 'normal' spaceline? Is it that reporting to a time location can often be done for free, so on balance you still can get your people in play more quickly?
User avatar
 
By winterflames (Derek Marlar)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#562877
[1E-AU] Yes, the free plays are important, doubling you plays per turn. But there are also things that key off of your time locations and Do Cool Things.

Examples include:
Assignment: Earth
Launch the Phoenix and Protect Historic Encounter
MACO Training Camp as an alternative to Seat of Starfleet, allowing you to slingshot people straight to your ship when you play them. (Mind you, Seat and Imperial Palace aren't bad choices for time location improving cards either.)
Kolinahr
Comfort Women
one small step
temporal almanac
 
By jquam
 - New Member
 -  
#563082
OK, a follow-up question about just how time locations work:

Say a player has seeded both Khitomer Research and Camp Khitomer, its corresponding time location. Cards that report to the time location... are they just there, or can they also attempt the Khitomer Research mission?

Same question if the player then plays Facilitate Peace Talks. Can personnel from the Movies era attempt Khitomer Research, or do they first have to time-travel into the 24th century (...which doesn't really make sense with the flavor)?

Thanks for your indulgence.
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#563084
jquam wrote: Mon Sep 27, 2021 6:13 pm Say a player has seeded both Khitomer Research and Camp Khitomer, its corresponding time location. Cards that report to the time location... are they just there, or can they also attempt the Khitomer Research mission?
Time locations are a separate location from the spaceline location (a.k.a. the mission). So only personnel at the mission can attempt, not folks in the far past/future.
User avatar
 
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#563265
jquam wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 3:35 pm Smashing -- that makes a lot of sense! Thanks for your very clear reply.
I'd also add there are some nice protections added to time locations. Some prevent attacks or, since they are located not in "normal space time", it puts a barrier of protection between you and an attack fleet. Also, there are some cool benefits that allow for special traveling (already mentioned but there are more than just that one example.

The way I think of it is an incentive and an engine. You are rewarded for playing within an "era" and that often comes with nice accelerating benefits. If you play MTG, it's the same general thing as playing "tribal" decks. You limit your card pool, but are often compensated by nice benefits. And in STCCG, those often engender some very creative deckbuilding options.
Needing a mild extension for my tourneys

Hi @Orbin , @boromirofborg and @stevenelson, I a[…]

@BCSWowbagger thanks for replying to questions h[…]

My review of the Halloween friendly con. https://[…]

Tons of views so far, at a glance, I came up with […]