This forums is for questions, answers, and discussion about First Edition rules, formats, and expansions.
User avatar
 
By winterflames (Derek Marlar)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#586179
I don't think that Doran would be deactivated when he is discarded. And deactivating is the trigger for Settlement.
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#586195
winterflames wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 3:49 pm I don't think that Doran would be deactivated when he is discarded. And deactivating is the trigger for Settlement.
That would be my read as well - looks like the conditions for deactivation are
* trying to move somewhere it can't exist
* being targeted to be killed or destroyed

If you discard a holo, it's not deactivated; it's just gone.
User avatar
 
By WeAreBack
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#586212
What you were looking for is Fal-tor-pan. I've tried to make a deck based on the mechanic of recycling Vulcans work myself, but it's way too much setup to be worth it. You either need to be using one of the very few [NA] Vulcans -- only a couple of whom play for free to a time location -- or move an aligned Vulcan to a Ferengi Trading post with a holodeck every turn. (You can't use Planet of Galactic Peace on Vulcan now that they've made Observe ritual a homeworld).
2023 Hall of Fame Ballot

As always some people who want to see the world […]

I also want to give a hat tip to the Dogs of Wa[…]

Since all of this is based on personal perferenc[…]

Very nicely done CC ... for making Formidab[…]