Tribunal of Q wrote:While you are downloading or playing a card, you may ignore any effect...About 10 years ago I asked whether this meant I could ignore literally any effect, even things unrelated to the card (specifically if I could ignore In the Zone so all my points counted and I win). Unsurprisingly the answer is no, and the following was added to the glossary:
Glossary, Tribunal of Q (emphasis mine) wrote: When you download and/or play cards you may ignore any game text that would prevent, nullify or modify the cost of downloading and/or playing those cards. This card does not allow you to ignore game text not directly related to the downloading/playing of ref cards.This was a welcome addition, but I do not think it is sufficient. I will pose a set of scenarios probing the limits of the boldfaced text above, and am curious about your thoughts and explanations. I will share my own thoughts after some time. For some of these I believe the answer (under the current rules) is yes and for others no; and what the rules *should* say (as opposed to what they *currently* say) is a separate question.
The Wake of the BorgCan I play this on an opponent only using 2 Neutral Zone missions, ignoring the "if they seeded 4 or more" game text on The Wake of the Borg? This is "game text that would prevent ... playing the card" which is what the Glossary allows me to ignore by direct quote.
Plays on opponent's Neutral Zone Region mission if they seeded 4 or more. End of opponent's next turn, all non- ships, facilities, and personnel there are returned to hand.
By the same reasoning, can I play this on any of my opponent's missions (regardless of whether they have any Neutral Zone missions at all), ignoring text so the card reads as follows: "Plays on opponent's
Containment FieldCan I ignore the "Not duplicatable" text to allow me to download a second (third, fourth, ...) Containment Field into play? (Again this is game text preventing me from playing the card.)
Seeds or plays on table. May not leave play. Nullifies each Destroy Radioactive Garbage Scow (its owner loses its points), Telepathic Alien Kidnappers, and Static Warp Bubble. Players must place a card from hand face up here to use a or Hidden Fighter. Start of each player's turn, they return up to two of those cards to hand; if they still have any cards here, they skip that turn. (Not duplicatable.)
Tribunal of QTribunal places some limitations on its own powers -- no player (including you) can suspend play when downloading or playing a card; it has a once per game per card title limit on replacing draws with cards, and a once every turn limit on downloading Q the Referee in place of a draw. Can any (or all) of these be ignored using Tribunal's own text?
Seeds on table. You may download cards from your discard pile. While you are downloading or playing a card, you may ignore any effect and no action may suspend play. In place of a card draw you may download a card (once per game per card title) OR Q the Referee (limit once every turn). At the start of the first turn, if it is not your turn, you may download a card.
If I am downloading a card, can I suspend play to download another (using Tribunal's "ignore" ability to override its "no action may suspend play" text?)
Can I download the same card multiple times (using Tribunal's "ignore" ability to override its "once per game per card title" game text?)
Writ of AccountabilityCan I ignore the text requiring me to place this on a FCA personnel, and instead place it on anyone?
Seeds or plays on table. Once per game, downloads an FCA personnel; discard incident. OR Seeds or plays on table. Place on your FCA personnel. If opponent has used Subspace Schism or Brain Drain more than twice OR played Static Warp Bubble, Anti-Time Anomaly, or Black Hole more than once OR used their own dilemma(s) to score more than 15 points or to discard other dilemmas, they lose the game.
Scorched HandCan I ignore the text limiting it to players with more than 12 cards in their hand?
Plays to cause each player who has more than 12 cards in hand to shuffle all but 6 (random selection) and place beneath draw deck. (Immune to Amanda Rogers.)
Finally, "ignore any effect" is found on one other card, Homestead, which allows you to "ignore any effect that requires you to score 'an additional 40 points to win.'" Presumably this includes the "You Are a Monument" effect, which is now an official rule of the game in Modern. By analogy to Homestead, does Tribunal also allow me to ignore various rules of the game (such as the action timing rules) in order to download or play cards when I would not otherwise be allowed to?
And if so, are there any limitations on which rules I can ignore (provided they are related to playing/downloading a card?)