What's New Dashboard Articles Forums Chat Room Achievements Tournaments Player Map The Promenade Volunteers About Us Site Index
The Continuing Committee
It is currently Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:42 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards 
Author Message
Delta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:26 am
Posts: 4210
Location: Germany
Region: Vandros IV
Post "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
Hi guys,

when I have seeded a card that allows me to do something in place of a card draw - can I convert one of my draws at the start of the game to do that?

I find nothing in the Glossary that would prevent me from doing so, but I thought I'd better ask :D.

_________________
1E Player since 1995. 2E Player since 2007.

Dominion Article Series Thread | Delta Quadrant Article Series Thread | Trade Thread


Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:11 am
Profile
Delta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:26 am
Posts: 4210
Location: Germany
Region: Vandros IV
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
No one? ...

_________________
1E Player since 1995. 2E Player since 2007.

Dominion Article Series Thread | Delta Quadrant Article Series Thread | Trade Thread


Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:21 pm
Profile
Delta Quadrant


User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 6:19 am
Posts: 1605
Location: Berlin, Germany
Region: Vandros IV
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
I don't think you can do that...

PS: Ick freu ma schon uff nächsten Samstag. Decks und Dilemmas sind fertig ;) .

_________________
The Caretaker's Hoedown: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38EdrdzcR38


Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:26 pm
Profile
Delta Quadrant

User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 6:50 pm
Posts: 1513
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
Dukat wrote:
Hi guys,

when I have seeded a card that allows me to do something in place of a card draw - can I convert one of my draws at the start of the game to do that?

I find nothing in the Glossary that would prevent me from doing so, but I thought I'd better ask :D.

This is something I had never considered doing before. I suspect the intent is that you're not supposed to be able to replace the draws which form your opening hand. Here is the closest thing I could find as evidence to support that:
Rulebook wrote:
Both players shuffle their draw decks and place them face-down on the table, then draw seven concealed cards to form a starting hand. The starting player takes the first turn. Then players take alternating turns until one of them wins.

Each turn consists of a series of actions taken by the player. Actions may be permitted — or required — by the rules or by the cards on the table.

This seems to say that you don't take actions until the starting player's first turn, which to me would include replacing a card draw with a download. That would be my take on it.

_________________
9of24
Commerce Drone


Sun Feb 23, 2020 7:44 pm
Profile
First Edition Rules Master
First Edition Rules Master


User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 12364
Location: Twin Cities
Region: Andoria
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
Just as a general heads-up to the world, the Rules Committee will be discussing this (and how best to clarify it) next month.

_________________
Official Rulings in blue. All else opinion. | Rules Archive

"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."
~Iron Prime

Rulesmaster of Brainerd


Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:54 pm
Profile
The Center of the Galaxy




User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 11709
Region: Romulus
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
BCSWowbagger wrote:
Just as a general heads-up to the world, the Rules Committee will be discussing this (and how best to clarify it) next month.


Short answer is still no though, right?

_________________
bhosp wrote:
Haha Neil's the Hillary Clinton of Star Trek. He won the popular vote even though no one really likes him, but he still loses.


Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:10 pm
Profile
First Edition Rules Master
First Edition Rules Master


User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 12364
Location: Twin Cities
Region: Andoria
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
Armus wrote:
BCSWowbagger wrote:
Just as a general heads-up to the world, the Rules Committee will be discussing this (and how best to clarify it) next month.


Short answer is still no though, right?

"Still" no? Has it been ruled on before? Old rulings are always useful, especially when the Rulebook and Glossary themselves are not exactly clear. If you've got one, please point me to it.

Anyway, I think the short answer to any pending rules question is: do whatever your T.D. says until the Rules Committee makes a decision. (But also make your T.D. read the thread, because smart people like Jeremy are worth listening to.)

_________________
Official Rulings in blue. All else opinion. | Rules Archive

"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."
~Iron Prime

Rulesmaster of Brainerd


Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:26 pm
Profile
Delta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:22 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Michigan
Region: Qo'noS
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
I would have to say no.......... because turn 1 shouldn't start until each player has all 7 cards in hand. What if I'm still drawing my cards while you are downloading something, but I draw into something that is a valid response to what you downloaded?

I can't think of a situation where that could happen with a card that exists.... since most "in place of a card draw" downloads replace your "normal" card draw (and none of those cards could be used because this is not your "normal" card play). Also you couldn't use anything that allows a download "once per turn" since it isn't your turn yet.

Exceptions I've found are

Group therapy
Officer Exchange Program
Holoprogram: The Office of Dixon Hill
Tribunal of Q

but nothing you could possibly download with those has a valid response that I'm aware of...

Can I activate Computer crash in response to those downloads???


Mon Feb 24, 2020 12:01 am
Profile
First Edition Rules Master
First Edition Rules Master


User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 12364
Location: Twin Cities
Region: Andoria
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
Dukat wrote:
when I have seeded a card that allows me to do something in place of a card draw - can I convert one of my draws at the start of the game to do that?.


No.

Details to follow on April 6th. This was an excellent question. Nice work.

_________________
Official Rulings in blue. All else opinion. | Rules Archive

"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."
~Iron Prime

Rulesmaster of Brainerd


Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:10 pm
Profile
Delta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:55 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Leipzig
Region: Vandros IV
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
sad panda


Sat Mar 07, 2020 3:21 pm
Profile
Delta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:26 am
Posts: 4210
Location: Germany
Region: Vandros IV
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
BCSWowbagger wrote:
Dukat wrote:
when I have seeded a card that allows me to do something in place of a card draw - can I convert one of my draws at the start of the game to do that?.


No.

Details to follow on April 6th. This was an excellent question. Nice work.

Please make a post here, by the time, as I do not always check the front page.

_________________
1E Player since 1995. 2E Player since 2007.

Dominion Article Series Thread | Delta Quadrant Article Series Thread | Trade Thread


Mon Mar 09, 2020 2:04 pm
Profile
Beta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 655
Location: Munich, Germany
Region: Vandros IV
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
Dukat wrote:
BCSWowbagger wrote:
Dukat wrote:
when I have seeded a card that allows me to do something in place of a card draw - can I convert one of my draws at the start of the game to do that?.


No.

Details to follow on April 6th. This was an excellent question. Nice work.

Please make a post here, by the time, as I do not always check the front page.

Rules Update, April

_________________
Play 1E in LackeyCCG with the StarTrek1E Plugin! Check out the latest news and ask questions here.
Also check out the LackeyCCG plugins for 2E and Tribbles!


Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:18 pm
Profile
First Edition Rules Master
First Edition Rules Master


User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 12364
Location: Twin Cities
Region: Andoria
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
scox wrote:
Quote:
Please make a post here, by the time, as I do not always check the front page.

Rules Update, April


Thanks, scox, I forgot.

_________________
Official Rulings in blue. All else opinion. | Rules Archive

"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."
~Iron Prime

Rulesmaster of Brainerd


Mon Apr 06, 2020 5:09 pm
Profile
Delta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:55 pm
Posts: 1105
Location: Leipzig
Region: Vandros IV
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
I dont get what changed from the article

you draw in seed now? I dont get it.
Just seed GT before than?


Mon Apr 06, 2020 7:06 pm
Profile
Beta Quadrant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:47 am
Posts: 467
Location: Tampa, FL
Region: Cardassia
Post Re: "In place of a card draw" and drawing first 7 cards
It is now the last part of the seed phase meaning you must draw the 7 cards as normal and are not subject to "In place of a card draw effects". technically nothing has changed, they just made it so you can not replace those draws.

_________________
card1 lives matter!!

jadziadax8 wrote:
Keiimaster wrote:
jadziadax8 wrote:
Dammit, too many tabs open!
Maggie, I think it's time to step away from the bar!
Zing!


Mon Apr 06, 2020 7:20 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Terms of Use

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.