User avatar
 
By Mr.Sloan
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E Austrian National Second Runner-Up 2020
#551955
Quote: "Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free, then draw a card if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play."

How to read the sentence? Devided by the column?
1.
Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free,

then draw a card if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play.

So i can free play but i only get the draw if i have no DWE in play?

2.
Or does the if also limit the first half of the sentence so no free play if my DWE in play?
User avatar
 
By SudenKapala (Suden Käpälä)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E The Neutral Zone Regional Participant 2021
#551965
Mr.Sloan wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 4:06 pm Quote: "Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free, then draw a card if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play."

1.
Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free,

then draw a card if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play.

So i can free play but i only get the draw if i have no DWE in play?
Yes. :thumbsup:
How to read the sentence? Devided by the column [comma?]?
Indeed, the number and placement of commas here, determines which clauses are conditional or not.
2.
Or does the if also limit the first half of the sentence so no free play if my DWE in play?
No, it doesn't limit the first clause.
User avatar
 
By Mr.Sloan
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E Austrian National Second Runner-Up 2020
#551969
SudenKapala wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 4:47 pm
Mr.Sloan wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 4:06 pm Quote: "Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free, then draw a card if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play."

1.
Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free,

then draw a card if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play.

So i can free play but i only get the draw if i have no DWE in play?
Yes. :thumbsup:
How to read the sentence? Devided by the column [comma?]?
Indeed, the number and placement of commas here, determines which clauses are conditional or not.
thx. seed cards for the deck build. would be great if rule chiefs or TDs for Dojo and DoW themed could confirm that...

@bosskamiura
@JeBuS
User avatar
Director of Operations
By JeBuS (Brian S)
 - Director of Operations
 -  
Socialite
#551973
If you're asking for my reading, I'd say: you draw the card only if you play the Vorta for free and only if you do not have DWE in play. The draw is predicated on doing something else first. That's why the word "then" is there. At which point you check if your DWE is in play.
User avatar
 
By Mr.Sloan
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E Austrian National Second Runner-Up 2020
#551980
@JeBuS
Yeah i agree to that.

The question is can i still free play the vorta while having Dominion War efforts (just forfeit the card draw)
User avatar
Director of Operations
By JeBuS (Brian S)
 - Director of Operations
 -  
Socialite
#551984
Mr.Sloan wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 6:43 pm @JeBuS
Yeah i agree to that.

The question is can i still free play the vorta while having Dominion War efforts (just forfeit the card draw)
Yes, you can still play the Vorta for free. If it meant the other thing it would have said:
Once each turn, if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play, you may play a [1E-DS9] Vorta for free then draw a card.
User avatar
 
By SudenKapala (Suden Käpälä)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E The Neutral Zone Regional Participant 2021
#551985
JeBuS wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 7:33 pm
Mr.Sloan wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 6:43 pm @JeBuS can i still free play the vorta while having Dominion War efforts (just forfeit the card draw)
Yes, you can still play the Vorta for free. If it meant the other thing it would have said:
Once each turn, if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play, you may play a [1E-DS9] Vorta for free then draw a card.
Or it could have said, "Once each turn, you may play a [DS9] Vorta for free then draw a card, if you do not have Dominion War Efforts in play."
I just moved a comma, and now it means something else (like I hinted at earlier). But my alternate wording would be a little less unambiguous than Jebus', and therefore I agree that if the intention had been for both functions to be impaired by DWE, they should've gone with Jebus' wording over mine. (Also, mine sounds slightly less formal to my own ear, on 2 points. If I really had to think of a wording, I'd additionally have swapped the clauses around; 3-1-2.)
Still, both Jebus' and my alternate versions say the exact same thing...
That's The Power Of Comma. 8) As Sloan already suspected. :thumbsup:
User avatar
Ambassador
By bosskamiura (Thomas Kamiura)
 - Ambassador
 -  
Professional
Community Contributor
#551995
I’ll weigh in and say I agree with Jebus.

TK
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Architect
Community Contributor
#551996
Mr.Sloan wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 4:06 pm So i can free play but i only get the draw if i have no DWE in play?
:thumbsup:
User avatar
 
By Dukat
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#552015
Since I was part of the design team for this card ...

Yes, you may report one Vorta for free.

If you chose to do that, then a card draw triggers. It is mandatory.

You you have to check for the condition: is DWE in play?
If it is, the draw is cancelled. If it is not, the trigger is succesful.

That is the exact sequence of events.


If you do not chose to report a Vorta for free, the sequence isn't triggered.
So you cannot trigger the card draw using any other means of playing a Vorta.

In other words: it is optional to play that Vorta for free, but it is not optional to draw the card and check for the condition.

Generally yes, but I won’t be there!

Stupid Trek Jokes and Memes

One for the kiddies

im so fired up. im so ready for this cube draft

If you plan on attending, please pre-register! My […]