WeAreBack wrote:The question: does a the "beam up" involved in the transporter mix-up have to be valid when it begins, or does it only need to be valid when it ends? My views is that only the end-result matters.
My opinion only, not an official ruling.
The action has to be valid when it begins, or you never reach the point where you can do the Transporter Mixup. This makes both TrekSense and RuleSense.
An action has three stages: (1) initiation, (2) responses, and (3) resolution. (You might also see these stages as proposal, modification, and execution.) Transporter Mixup is a response
to a beaming action (since it modifies
a transport in progress), so Transporter Mixup can only act on a transport that has already finished the initiation step.
But initiation/proposal has several substeps as well (this list is from the Glossary, but it is not currently known whether it is complete):
(1a) revealing/playing cards,
(1b) declaring their functions,
(1c) checking conditions/legality,
(1d) choosing targets,
(1e) paying costs
An action becomes "committed" (that is, you can't back out of it anymore, and any costs paid will remain lost) at the "choosing targets" step. But an invalid transport fizzles at the "checking legality" stage -- before it becomes "committed." The transport is cancelled (with no costs paid, as if it never happened) and there's no transport for Transporter Mixup to respond to.
This makes sense in-universe. Regency One's transporter chief isn't going to start to beam up
Worf and hope
that a freak ion storm causes a bizarre switcheroo with Worf's
counterpart. He's going to politely tell
Worf that, no, he can't beam up, because he's an Enemy of the Alliance and is to be terminated with extreme prejudice.
way to interfere with Transporter Mixup is computer crash. My understanding is that the beam up would be aborted, and Transporter Mixup would not discard.
This is correct, but only because of the extremely hinky way
cards work in the timing rules. (Computer Crash is "retroactive" to the start of the action, causing the transport it's responding to to retroactively
fail at the "checking legality" step. I have tried to find ways of simplifying this very confusing piece of the rules, but it seems there may be other cards that depend on it.)
A Barclay's Transporter Phobia is not subject to hinky
timing and will actually spoil the Transporter Mixup: the transport will not
be cancelled, anyone else involved in the transport (if any) will complete the Mixup, but the target of the Phobia is knocked out of the proverbial matter stream and (since the transport was validly initiated), costs are still paid and the Transporter Mixup will still discard.
Rules Manager | Official Rulings in blue
. All else opinion. | Rules Archive
"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."