User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Architect
Community Contributor
#558413
How is your discard pile empty? Process Ore: Mining requires you to discard a card first. That card becomes the bottom card of your discard pile immediately and can be removed in the next step of Process Ore: Mining.
User avatar
 
By Dukat
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#558421
BCSWowbagger wrote: Sun Jul 25, 2021 10:21 am How is your discard pile empty? Process Ore: Mining requires you to discard a card first. That card becomes the bottom card of your discard pile immediately and can be removed in the next step of Process Ore: Mining.
Well, two options ...

My hand could be empty.

My opponent could play a card like Burial Ground or Fire Sculptor as a response, after I discarded a card from hand.
User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Goateed
Community Contributor
1E American National Second Runner-Up 2020
#558429
Dukat wrote: Sun Jul 25, 2021 1:30 pm
BCSWowbagger wrote: Sun Jul 25, 2021 10:21 am How is your discard pile empty? Process Ore: Mining requires you to discard a card first. That card becomes the bottom card of your discard pile immediately and can be removed in the next step of Process Ore: Mining.
Well, two options ...

My hand could be empty.

My opponent could play a card like Burial Ground or Fire Sculptor as a response, after I discarded a card from hand.
If your hand is empty you can't process ore. You need a card in hand to initiate the action.

By the same token, Fire Sculptor is not a valid response to discarding a card to process ore, so it couldn't be played until after the process ore action is complete, at which point your discard pile would be empty again anyway.
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Architect
Community Contributor
#558437
Armus is right, although that gives me an idea.

You could, in theory, discard a card from hand, then use Kitara to hit yourself with Souls of the Dead at suspends-play speed, removing the card from your discard pile in the middle of ore processing. Now you have an empty discard pile, just as Process Ore: Mining is telling you to place a card from your discard pile out-of-play.

I believe that would cause the action to fail. You would not get the draw. You may even have to undo the entire action, including the special download. (But this is so esoteric, I doubt it will come up very often.)

EDIT: Oh, no, hang on, that doesn't work after all: your Souls of the Dead will discard after resolving and will therefore be in the discard pile when the suspends-play ends and the Process Ore: Mining resumes.

It's interesting. I remember starting back in 9[…]

Say a player has seeded both Khitomer Research a[…]

Self-controlling dilemmas

I should have realized the potential for using Rav[…]

jadziadax8 FW @Psionic Hobo 100-35 Thanks for t[…]