By liberty86
 -  
My friends and I started playing 1E and are having a blast. I understand that rules can get tricky and we resort to the rulebook on this site often. Some of us hear or see YouTube videos of people mentioning specific things that we think we hear, but then cannot find in the rulebook to clarify or confirm so I figured I would ask them here.

Shields up for away teams: If a enemy ship is in the same space as your ship, are you automatically at "yellow alert" or the equivilant where your shields are up, and while the enemy ship is present, you cannot beam in/out of the ship to the planet for missions?

Intercept: My brother swears he read somewhere that if a enemy ship is passing by a space your ship currently occupies, you had the option to "intercept" the passing ship. I can find no reference to this in the rules as best as I can see, is this true? I figured it might be a term being used to describe attacking a enemy ship in the space during your turn.

I understand there are a lot of house rules that develop for a experience that fits the players given the vague nature of the structure of 1E. What are the most commonly used/agreed upon house rules that the community generally follows that seem to address the most pervasive issues they agree on in the game?

Thanks so much for all the help!
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Community Contributor
Welcome and it's fantastic to hear that you've got a playgroup up and running! I'll do your best to answer your questions. Others will undoubtedly chime in as well.
Shields up for away teams: If a enemy ship is in the same space as your ship, are you automatically at "yellow alert" or the equivilant where your shields are up, and while the enemy ship is present, you cannot beam in/out of the ship to the planet for missions?