User avatar
 
By Professor Scott (Mathew McCalpin)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Trailblazer
#606377
During a [1E-S] attempt, I hit Silent Enemy. a battle immediately ensues and under normal circumstances, my ship becomes stopped due to the battle, and the attempt ends.

However, in a recent game, my ship was Olarra and I have a Battle Bridge Door stocked with all It Must Be Destroyed, which says:

If battling a [Self] card, ATTACK bonus +4 and your ships and crews are not stopped afterwards (but may not initiate battle again this turn).

Since I am not stopped, does the attempt continue to the next dilemma, or does that battle end the attempt with my ship unstopped?
User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Regent
Community Contributor
#606379
Professor Scott wrote: Sat Sep 23, 2023 3:18 pm During a [1E-S] attempt, I hit Silent Enemy. a battle immediately ensues and under normal circumstances, my ship becomes stopped due to the battle, and the attempt ends.

However, in a recent game, my ship was Olarra and I have a Battle Bridge Door stocked with all It Must Be Destroyed, which says:

If battling a [Self] card, ATTACK bonus +4 and your ships and crews are not stopped afterwards (but may not initiate battle again this turn).

Since I am not stopped, does the attempt continue to the next dilemma, or does that battle end the attempt with my ship unstopped?
In this specific case, the battle is a sub-action of a dilemma encounter, which is a sub-action of the mission attempt. Normally you're correct that getting stopped ends the mission attempt, but since you're not stopped, I don't see any reason that the mission attempt would end. I think you keep going to next dilemma just like after you resolve any other dilemma that doesn't stop you.
User avatar
 
By Professor Scott (Mathew McCalpin)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Trailblazer
#606391
That was my take too, but battle is confusing as it is. Any weigh-in from Rules? @BCSWowbagger
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Community Contributor
#606398
Not in a position to check docs rn, but that sounds correct to me. :thumbsup:

Just a final check: do any Minnesotans need a ride[…]

Selling 1E Collection

i'd be down to buy this. DM me?

California Bay Area playgroup?

interesting. I guess i have to figure out how to p[…]

Online Lifesigns Release Event

My next availability to start a stream is likely S[…]