User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#607067
The text says "from solving that mission", so I'd argue that any and all points you gained that are tied to the act of solving would get hit.
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Community Contributor
#607202
I'm not sure Allen's interpretation is the best textual construction, but it certainly seems easiest to apply.

In any event, how I Tried To Warn You interacts with JTK, AMS, etc. seems genuinely ambiguous. We may need to issue a formal ruling for it.
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#607204
BCSWowbagger wrote: Wed Oct 04, 2023 5:42 pm I'm not sure Allen's interpretation is the best textual construction, but it certainly seems easiest to apply.
I'm partly basing it on when the card came out - it's not a PAQ card with the funky wordings, but DS9 - by that point we had multiple ways to score additional points when solving a mission, so the choice of words seems compelling (to me at least).
 
By Ashigaru
 - Alpha Quadrant
 -  
#607213
Whereas my thought (bear in mind, I haven't played in a LONG LONG time) was that ITTWY took away the points from the MISSION, not from other sources that may have only procced off a mission. If I were to write down points every time I scored them and their source, this is what I would write.

+40 - Espionage Mission
+5 - James T. Kirk
+5 - Assign Mission Specialists

So I would have looked at it as only 40 points came from the mission, the other 10 are just bonus points. Because it does seem a little odd to me to say "Okay, I get 50 Mission points, but only 40 count towards the Intermix rule" instead of "40 Mission points, 10 bonus points."

Edit - was asking a friend who ALSO hasn't played in a long time, and he asked 'What about acquiring Ressikan Flute there? I only got it because I solved a mission, after all. Or what about Drought Tree?' as other anomalies if ITTWY hit all points that would not have been obtained but for solving that mission.
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#607217
The wording is
"destroys any points already gained from solving that mission or completing an objective targeting that mission".

So solving the mission is a gimme.

AMS is "scores 5 points whenever they use their skill to meet a mission requirement". So you score the points when you solve the mission.

I wouldn't consider the Flute to count, because you earn the artifact when you solve - the points happen afterwards.
 
By Ashigaru
 - Alpha Quadrant
 -  
#607218
I would say that AMS points are WHEN you solve the mission, but not FROM solving the mission - they come from the objective, not the mission. Simply stated, I think ITTWY looks at the source of the points.
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
By BCSWowbagger (James Heaney)
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Community Contributor
#607219
There's sense in that!

So...can we mis-seed The Squire's Rules unde[…]

1EFQ: Showdown Playtime!

The correct answer is Tespar Egg Nog :? My ab[…]

Yeah baby yeah No lies detected. Agimus was […]

. Chris fully wins 100-35 (FW) Good game! :thu[…]