User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Regent
Community Contributor
  Trek Masters 1E Champion 2023
#610636
Yes. Landed ships are a "God" hack.

"God" can't target a landed ship because things that target ships can't target landed ships unless the card says so.

However, a landed ship is still "here," so if "God" is on the mission you can still attempt the mission since you have a ship "here."

That said, if the "God" player leads with Buried Alive, then a landed ship can NOT serve as the space component for the mission - so at the very least that would present a ship for "God" to munch.
User avatar
North American OP Coordinator
By The Ninja Scot (Michael Van Breemen)
 - North American OP Coordinator
 -  
1E World Quarter-Finalist 2023
2E World Champion 2023
Tribbles World Champion 2022
The Traveler
1E North American Continental Champion 2023
2E North American Continental Champion 2023
  Trek Masters 2E Champion 2023
1E Canadian National Champion 2023
1E American National Champion 2023
2E Canadian National Champion 2023
2E German National Runner-Up 2023
2E American National Second Runner-Up 2023
1E The Neutral Zone Regional Champion 2023
2E The Neutral Zone Regional Champion 2023
#610637
Landed ship - Glossary
A landed ship may not be targeted by any card that targets a ship, unless the card specifically allows it to target a landed ship.

Michael
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#610638
Question would become, does pointing at a landed ship count as targeting?

Seems a bit weird that the two clauses on the same card would give different results for "is there a ship here".
User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Regent
Community Contributor
  Trek Masters 1E Champion 2023
#610641
AllenGould wrote: Fri Dec 01, 2023 1:10 pm Question would become, does pointing at a landed ship count as targeting?

Seems a bit weird that the two clauses on the same card would give different results for "is there a ship here".
The first part clearly targets a ship to go boom. You destroy *that* ship, and by the rules, you can't destroy *that* ship if it's landed.

The second part is a binary: Is there a ship here? Yes or no. It's not targeting in the gameplay sense. To the extent it's targeting anything, it's targeting the mission by creating that "to attempt" requirement.

@BCSWowbagger feel free to tell me I'm wrong if I am, but I seem to recall this coming up several years ago and this was the takeaway... if that's changed since then, let me know. Thanks! :cheersL:
User avatar
First Edition Rules Master
 - First Edition Rules Master
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#610642
Armus wrote: Fri Dec 01, 2023 2:17 pm
@BCSWowbagger feel free to tell me I'm wrong if I am, but I seem to recall this coming up several years ago and this was the takeaway... if that's changed since then, let me know. Thanks! :cheersL:
It sounds familiar, but my brain keeps thinking of the cloaking rules, not the landed. (Although it wouldn't be the worst thing if the two worked the same...)
User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Regent
Community Contributor
  Trek Masters 1E Champion 2023
#610643
Found the thread.... from... *checks time stamp*... 9(!!!) years ago? Holy Hell I'm old...

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=24834&start=30

Also apparently if you don't have a ship at all at the mission your attempt ends even if you pass "God"? Who actually remembers that little wrinkle?!
Mis-seeds

Not sure how formal this needs to be... probabl[…]

Drive from Work: Continuing Mission

At some point I had to get some rambly thoughts in[…]

1. Frool reports for free and has Youth, so folk[…]

I got the FW against @doctorjoya 100-45. It was […]