User avatar
 
By DataNoh
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
ibbles  Trek Masters Tribbles Champion 2023
#611178
Does relevant game text or a rule have to explicitly use the word "kill" to count as a "kill" for a card like Valuable Prisoner?

More specifically:
  1. Does requiring a player to discard a personnel for reasons other than death count as a kill? (Examples: Anaphasic Organism, Quantum Leap, Tarellian Plague Ship)
  2. Does requiring a personnel to die count as a kill? (Examples: Archer, Torture)
  3. Does being mortally wounded in battle count as a kill?
User avatar
 
By DataNoh
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
ibbles  Trek Masters Tribbles Champion 2023
#611187
Thanks! That makes sense for my first specific.

For the other two - the question is: Is causing a personnel's death (explicitly using words like "death" or "die") the same as killing them? Seems like the rules are ambiguous, but I'm leaning toward "yes". The rule you quoted has a link on the word "die" that redirects to "killed or destroyed".

Is there any other clarification for this?
User avatar
 
By DataNoh
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
ibbles  Trek Masters Tribbles Champion 2023
#611198
Takket wrote: Sun Dec 10, 2023 9:51 pm when you say "causing a personnel's death" do you mean a card causing it (like a dilemma, e.g. Archer), or an action/card play that a player takes? e.g. Phaser Burns
As I read it, either one. A basic definition of the word "kill" is to cause death. In either of those cases, I'd say the personnel died, and was killed. Is that a fair interpretation?
User avatar
 
By Takket
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#611212
Yes, any card the kills or dies or causes death would trigger Valuable Prisoner. A simple “discard” like Crell Mosset would not.
Last edited by Takket on Tue Dec 12, 2023 7:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
 
By Professor Scott (Mathew McCalpin)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Trailblazer
1E Cardassia Regional Champion 2023
#611231
Yes, Nineteen of Twenty is sad that Distribution Node says:

Your [TNG] Borg here share first-listed skills at highest level. Once each turn, you may discard your drone here to make your drones here all gain any skill until end of turn.
User avatar
 
By DataNoh
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
ibbles  Trek Masters Tribbles Champion 2023
#611303
That all makes sense. So is death = kill a fair connection if there's not another card involved? Like if a personnel is mortally wounded and dies, can I count it as a kill?
 
By Ashigaru
 - Alpha Quadrant
 -  
#611559
Especially as relating to personnel battle, absolutely. From Rulebook 7.2.4, stage 6 of personnel battle.

"6. Resolution: All mortally wounded cards die." (Remainder omitted, emphasis in original.)
Mis-seeds

Not sure how formal this needs to be... probabl[…]

Drive from Work: Continuing Mission

At some point I had to get some rambly thoughts in[…]

1. Frool reports for free and has Youth, so folk[…]

I got the FW against @doctorjoya 100-45. It was […]