User avatar
 
By andrewd18 (Andrew Dorney)
 - Alpha Quadrant
 -  
#637283
I can't seem to find a definition of this in the rulebook or glossary, so I'll ask here.

Scenario:
  1. After we complete the seed phase, I go first and I draw a card to end my turn.
  2. My opponent draws a card to end their turn.
  3. I draw a card to end my turn.
  4. My opponent draws a card to end their turn.
  5. I play a card but do not end my turn.
Are we both on turn 5 or am I on turn 3 while my opponent is on turn 2? That is, are turns counted as the same incrementing number for both players, or as separate incrementing numbers for each player?
 
By Ashigaru (Charles Schwartz)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#637285
I'm...not sure I see a difference. Is there a particular card interaction where it matters?
User avatar
 
By Takket
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E The Neutral Zone Regional Participant 2025
#637287
after you have BOTH had a turn, you are both on to the SECOND turn of the game.

so the first turn is your opponent's turn, and then your turn.

The example I can think of of why that matters is Contain Boarding Parties. This won't count down during the "first turn" regardless of who goes first.
 
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#637289
Takket wrote: Sun Feb 09, 2025 7:37 pm so the first turn is your opponent's turn, and then your turn.
...
This won't count down during the "first turn" regardless of who goes first.
I don't think that is true.
Rulebook wrote: The starting player takes the first turn. Then players take alternating turns until one of them wins.

Each turn consists of a series of actions taken by the player. Actions may be permitted — or required — by the rules or by the cards on the table. There are three basic kinds of action, which each player normally must do during his or her turn in the following order:
That seems pretty clear that a "turn" is a single unit consisting of one player taking their actions.

It would be perplexing if "turn" is overloaded to mean both an individual player's turn and also the totality of a sequence of both players' turns. While there is nothing that says this is not the case, there is nothing to say that it is.
User avatar
 
By andrewd18 (Andrew Dorney)
 - Alpha Quadrant
 -  
#637296
  1. For replaying historical games like @boromirofborg 's battle logs, it's important to know how to track discrete phases of the game, such as turns, in a consistent manner.
  2. Yes, I was also thinking of Contain Boarding Parties. If I am not first player, I don't seed it, and I play it on my first possible normal card play, does it count down? Most other cards like it say "your first turn", sidestepping the concern and implying a 1,1 2,2 3,3 measurement but the rulebook @FranklinKenter quoted implies a 1,2,3,4 measurement.
  3. CC members occasionally talk about a healthy 1E game being "7-9 turns" and I am curious if that is a game with 3-5 normal plays per player or 7-9 normal plays per player.
User avatar
 
By Takket
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E The Neutral Zone Regional Participant 2025
#637301
yeah i thought Contain Boarding Parties did not count down on the first turn regardless of who went first. But if it "the first turn" only for the person who WENT first and if you seeded it, and your first turn is the SECOND turn of the game, so it does count down????? Now I'm not sure because of what Franklin said.
User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Regent
Community Contributor
#637302
Takket wrote: Mon Feb 10, 2025 11:32 am yeah i thought Contain Boarding Parties did not count down on the first turn regardless of who went first. But if it "the first turn" only for the person who WENT first and if you seeded it, and your first turn is the SECOND turn of the game, so it does count down????? Now I'm not sure because of what Franklin said.
If you seeded it and go first, it does not count down at the end of your turn.

If you seeded it and go second, it DOES count down at the end of your turn.

I wasn't on Design when this card was made, but I'm guessing the point of that text was to give you two full turns of prep before it popped, but I'm not sure it even does that.

If I go first I get 3 turns before it pops and my opponent has two. If I go second, I only get 2 turns before it pops and my opponent also gets 2.

:shrug:
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#637303
Armus wrote: Mon Feb 10, 2025 11:40 am
If I go first I get 3 turns before it pops and my opponent has two. If I go second, I only get 2 turns before it pops and my opponent also gets 2.
If you go first, you "waste" a turn's protection (not like your opponent can do much before they take a turn), so either way you effectively get two turns.
User avatar
 
By DataNoh (Chris Lund)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#637306
Turns are distinct. Numbering turns is contextual.
andrewd18 wrote: Are we both on turn 5 or am I on turn 3 while my opponent is on turn 2? That is, are turns counted as the same incrementing number for both players, or as separate incrementing numbers for each player?
Both are true:
Turn My turn # Opponent's turn # Game turn #
My turn 1 n/a 1
Opponent's turn n/a 1 2
My turn 2 n/a 3
Opponent's turn n/a 2 4
My turn 3 n/a 5
Both players are experiencing the fifth turn of the game. It's my third turn. It's not my opponent's turn at all.

In the game, when turn numbers are mentioned and players aren't specified, I assume it's using the game's turn number. (Caveat for the related phrase "each turn" which has long been ruled to be shorthand for "each of your turns".)

Outside of the game, I think it's always going to be contextual. I don't think there's any way to standardize how people discuss it, or much benefit in trying.
User avatar
 
By DataNoh (Chris Lund)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#637316
AllenGould wrote:Clearly the solution is a single global turn timer. :shrug:
What's that?
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#637318
DataNoh wrote: Mon Feb 10, 2025 2:04 pm
AllenGould wrote:Clearly the solution is a single global turn timer. :shrug:
What's that?
Just what it says - a single counter. Then there's no confusion on what turn we're on, because we're all incrementing a singular number.
User avatar
 
By patrick (Patrick Weijers)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#637325
Dukat wrote: Mon Feb 10, 2025 3:53 pm Whaaat?

I have a turn. My opponent has a turn.
After he had, we concluded the FIRST turn of the game. Not the second one.


So when I count '6 turns', it means each of us had 6.
So, how do you play Tribunal of Q then? I've only ever used it to download a [Ref] card when I wasn't the starting player, but did you then wait until your turn was over to download it in your opponent's turn?

Or do you consider "the start of the first turn" only be the start of the starting player's turn?
User avatar
 
By commdecker (Matthew Zinno)
 - Gamma Quadrant
 -  
Arbiter
Community Contributor
#637326
andrewd18 wrote: Mon Feb 10, 2025 9:46 am
  1. For replaying historical games like @boromirofborg 's battle logs, it's important to know how to track discrete phases of the game, such as turns, in a consistent manner.
I'm not familiar with this, but it sounds like an issue of understanding the context being used there, rather than the game rules.
[*]Yes, I was also thinking of Contain Boarding Parties. If I am not first player, I don't seed it, and I play it on my first possible normal card play, does it count down? Most other cards like it say "your first turn", sidestepping the concern and implying a 1,1 2,2 3,3 measurement but the rulebook @FranklinKenter quoted implies a 1,2,3,4 measurement.
It is as Franklin said. The first turn of the game is the first turn of the first player. The turn after that belongs to the other player; it is not the same turn, and so it is not the first turn of the game.
[*]CC members occasionally talk about a healthy 1E game being "7-9 turns" and I am curious if that is a game with 3-5 normal plays per player or 7-9 normal plays per player.
[/list]
In those discussions, they mean "per player".

I was missing the lack of interesting doorways. No[…]

anyone else want to weigh in on this?

Welcome to Event #6 of the 2025 Voyage to Talos IV[…]

Life's Simple Obsessions

Obsession refers to an Event that plays on y[…]