Check out the trials and troubles of the first Will of the Collective, where the community designed a card for the first time!
User avatar
 
By Altoid
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#10970
If "Consume Me" has an effect when that dilemma gets placed under a mission by another dilemma (aka it is consume-d), at that point is an away team / crew _facing_ that dilemma :?: Can they use Escape to prevent a death by Consume Me? Can a Consume Me type dilemma be Kirk'd? Can Klingon Riker gain skills?
User avatar
 
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#10987
Keller wrote:consume me's aren't faced, but that doesn't mean they cannot be escaped. Reread escape.
Yes they are; that's what the "regular effect" that is being voted on right now is all about. it just isn't faced when its "When this dilemma is placed under..." text.
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#11022
If the intention is to make the consumption ability able to be affected by those sorts of cards, one fix would be to have the "When this is consumed" ability add the text to the consuming dilemma.

I, for one, think that it's just fine being immune to that class of cards.
User avatar
 
By Altoid
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#11107
Keller wrote:consume me's aren't faced, but that doesn't mean they cannot be escaped. Reread escape.
Here is the gametext on Escape

When any number of your personnel facing a dilemma are about to be killed or placed in an opponent's brig, discard a random card from hand to prevent that. Those personnel are stopped instead.

When an Away Team/Crew is affected by "Consume Me", are they facing that dilemma :?: Can they use Escape to prevent any kills caused by "Consume Me" :?:
User avatar
 
By Kaiser
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
1E World Runner-Up 2019
Contender
1E German National Runner-Up 2020
#11109
At that point, they are not facing "Consume Me", but they are still facing the other dilemma (the one that actually consumes "Consume Me"). Escape doesn't specify that your personnel have to face the dilemma that is causing the kill, but simply "a dilemma".
User avatar
 
By Keller
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
#11123
Kaiser wrote:At that point, they are not facing "Consume Me", but they are still facing the other dilemma (the one that actually consumes "Consume Me"). Escape doesn't specify that your personnel have to face the dilemma that is causing the kill, but simply "a dilemma".
:thumbsup:
User avatar
 
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#11146
Kaiser wrote:At that point, they are not facing "Consume Me", but they are still facing the other dilemma (the one that actually consumes "Consume Me"). Escape doesn't specify that your personnel have to face the dilemma that is causing the kill, but simply "a dilemma".
That's the stuff we level 2-judges are made of !!
We read the rulebook from front to back and back again, count playable non-Drone Borg and (sometimes) drive Keller up the wall. :wink:
User avatar
Director of First Edition
By MidnightLich (Charlie Plaine)
 - Director of First Edition
 -  
Trailblazer
#11406
The Guardian wrote:If you are not facing Consume Me!, can you get hit by three of them in one mission attempt?
If you are lucky enough to consume 3 at once, yes.

-crp
User avatar
Second Edition Design Manager
By The Guardian (Richard New)
 - Second Edition Design Manager
 -  
#11408
MidnightLich wrote:
The Guardian wrote:If you are not facing Consume Me!, can you get hit by three of them in one mission attempt?
If you are lucky enough to consume 3 at once, yes.
That's what I figured. I just didn't know if that was something we wanted to consider.

Hey folks. I'm bumping this thread to see what peo[…]

Hey folks. I'm bumping this thread to see what peo[…]

jadziadax8 MW treebel 40-35 Thanks for the good g[…]

Come play tonight! https://www.trekcc.org/tournam[…]