Check out the trials and troubles of the first Will of the Collective, where the community designed a card for the first time!
User avatar
 
By Keller
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
#11642
The ruling is that you can do something before or after any action. Consuming is an action, so you can do something before or after that. Placing a dilemma on a mission is an action, so you can do it before that. Randomly selecting a personnel to be stopped is an action, so you can do it before or after. You can't do it in the middle of an action, ie after the selection but before the stop, save for something that specifically says "about to be stopped" or "has been selected". It is written as a single action.
User avatar
 
By Mugato
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#11675
Keller wrote:The ruling is that you can do something before or after any action. Consuming is an action, so you can do something before or after that. Placing a dilemma on a mission is an action, so you can do it before that. Randomly selecting a personnel to be stopped is an action, so you can do it before or after. You can't do it in the middle of an action, ie after the selection but before the stop, save for something that specifically says "about to be stopped" or "has been selected". It is written as a single action.
Is returning the dilemma to the dilemma pile or placing it under the mission an action that you can do something before? Or look at it as doing something at the end of the dilemma.


Jared
User avatar
 
By Keller
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
#11683
Mugato wrote:Is returning the dilemma to the dilemma pile or placing it under the mission an action that you can do something before?
yes
User avatar
 
By ikeya (David Kuck)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
#11685
Does this affect the way, for example, The Borg Queen, Guardian of the Hive can interact with dilemmas?
I was always under the impression that after a selection like on Pinned Down, that the Queen didn't have a chance to respond/swap drones anymore since there's no more text to execute.

So is she still facing the dilemma right before it gets placed underneath the mission (or somewhere else) or can only the act of having the dilemma placed somewhere be reacted upon (i.e., Quarantine)?

Thanks.
-dave
User avatar
Second Edition Design Manager
By The Guardian (Richard New)
 - Second Edition Design Manager
 -  
#11716
ikeya wrote:Does this affect the way, for example, The Borg Queen, Guardian of the Hive can interact with dilemmas?
I was always under the impression that after a selection like on Pinned Down, that the Queen didn't have a chance to respond/swap drones anymore since there's no more text to execute.

So is she still facing the dilemma right before it gets placed underneath the mission (or somewhere else) or can only the act of having the dilemma placed somewhere be reacted upon (i.e., Quarantine)?
According to Keller's ruling, after the last sentence is a valid time to respond.

That is exactly why I am for being more strict with the interpretation. I understand, but disagree with the ruling.
Q-Flashin'

Battle deck with The Issue Is Patriotism

I really enjoyed draft the couple times I've playe[…]

Hey folks. I'm bumping this thread to see what peo[…]

jadziadax8 MW treebel 40-35 Thanks for the good g[…]