Hoss-Drone wrote: You should get a job on Fox News. They love to do this too - forget to mention the obvious that hurts their slanted viewpoint. You dont need to draw CM! to luck into its benefit. It could just happen to be there for you. If i stock 3 in my dilemma pile of 30, and my opponent attempts space first, i actually DONT want to draw into any because then I would have an increased chance of the kill at random. Since I know i'm already playing a consuming pile, i feel pretty confident i will luck into at least 1 CM! when i've consume somewhere between 3 and 8 out of my pile of 22.I thought people would be aware enough to realize the "lucky" consume is no where near consistent enough to count out. It is one of those things that is really cool when it happens, but even if you consume 8 of 22 and stock 3 copies, CM! will trigger an average (and median) once.
That its only a *slightly* added benefit is a matter of opinion. I can line up a row of MN players who can attest the effectiveness of my Tragic Turn pile. When you figure in that your deck strategy will or should synergize with your dilemma pile (and vice versa) the benefit is obvious - my dp kills some more effectively, my deck kills some which = i win i hope. When my opp has 22 people in his deck and my deck kills 8 and my dp kills 8, he's left with only 6 to solve his third mission - and those 6 will often need to be the right 6. Not exactly a slight benefit.So what is the marginal benefit of using Consume Me!?
Basically, i dont think you can judge the power or benefit of a dilemma in a vacuum. You dont just play the dilemma without anything else.That is my point... why is everyone so adamant that it should cost 2 when they haven't even played with it? I am not saying it should definitely cost less than 2, but, at the very least, we should experiment and try to see how low it can go.
When CM! is randomly consumed for the kill without setting itself up - it did cost 0. You pay the 2 for the gaurantee of being on top AND getting a choice kill AND reducing the consume cost of another dilemma minus 1 - which to me makes 2 feel incredibly cheap. Otherwise, as i said, it cost you 0 when you get the benefit.As pointed out, the random kill is not exactly reliable, so no real weight should be put upon it.
Keep in mind the cheap-kill only occurs.... if you stock the consume dilemmas, and if you draw them with Consume Me!, and if you can and decide to use them.
Is is really worth going that far out of you way for a chance at a "cheap kill"?