User avatar
 
By VioletBlaze (Violet Edgar)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#540677
So I was looking at the card Thomas Paris, and I was wondering, when can you activate the switch from treachery to honor? Is it an order (my guess), or can you do it in response to a dilemma? Between dilemmas (or dilemmas and solving)?
User avatar
Writing Team Manager
By OKCoyote (Daniel Matteson)
 - Writing Team Manager
 -  
President
#540681
VioletBlaze wrote: Sun Jan 24, 2021 11:40 pm So I was looking at the card Thomas Paris, and I was wondering, when can you activate the switch from treachery to honor? Is it an order (my guess), or can you do it in response to a dilemma? Between dilemmas (or dilemmas and solving)?
I believe this is considered "using a personnel's special skill" which, according to the glossary, is an action. You can only do it during your turn and not in the middle of a mission attempt (as attempting a mission is itself one action).
User avatar
Director of Operations
By JeBuS (Brian S)
 - Director of Operations
 -  
#540718
AllenGould wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 1:30 pm I'd always read it as being able to swap any time you're asked, but once you pick Honor you can't swap it back.
If it said 'any time', like Ezri, sure. But it doesn't, so... I have to concur that it is a special skill you can use as an action on your turn.
User avatar
 
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#540720
So Quark from RoA can only switch between 2 and 7 Integrity before or after a mission attempt?
User avatar
Director of Operations
By JeBuS (Brian S)
 - Director of Operations
 -  
#540722
WeyounsLastClone wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 2:00 pm So Quark from RoA can only switch between 2 and 7 Integrity before or after a mission attempt?
I don't have a good answer for this. It can be argued that is not a skill that needs to be activated. X is always 2 or 7. It does not tell you to choose, so it does not constitute an action.

The glossary does have a specific exception for this, though:
variable attribute wrote:Each time you need to know the value of a variable attribute (even when the card is in hand, such as for a Royale Casino dilemma), the owner of the card may choose one of the listed values at that time.
User avatar
Director of Operations
By JeBuS (Brian S)
 - Director of Operations
 -  
#540734
eberlems wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 4:56 pm Does using special skill = action mean that Borg Queen can't dl for end of turn draw? OTF limits personnel into play dl anyways.
I would lean towards that being the correct interpretation, due to:
No other actions may take place between start-of-turn or end-of-turn actions, other than valid responses.
The next sentence of the glossary muddies the waters a bit:
However, your normal card draw (or any action that replaces it), is always the last action of your turn.
So I have two questions:
  1. Is Borg Queen's skill a valid response to the end of turn card draw?
  2. Must a "replace" action be triggered outside the end of turn phase? (ie, some card like Blood Oath, Fear Will Keep Them in Line or Hirogen Hunt)
My personal opinion is that Borg Queen should not work to replace the end of turn draw, because using her special skill is an action and actions cannot be used during the end of turn phase.

But all that being said, the magic wand of "valid response" is a mess and could very well override this entirely. Because...
unless the action is a valid response (for example, "May replace anyone randomly selected to die here")
This example is clearly something that isn't explicitly 'any time', and yet, it wouldn't work unless it could suspend play to become a valid response.

So, in the end, yeah, the Borg Queen is probably a valid response, and I still think valid response is a mess.
User avatar
 
By VioletBlaze (Violet Edgar)
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#540755
It may seem silly but I like that my questions spur on this much discussion, since it means I at least understand the rules enough that the rules that confuse me confuse everyone :D
FtR, I read it as having to be done as an order, which seems to be the general concensus.
User avatar
 
By winterflames (Derek Marlar)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#540763
People who can switch skills and if they specify when:
admiral ross specifies
renhol specifies
mark ii doesn't
ezri Dax (Cold Front) specifies
Nilz Baris specifies
K'chiQ specifies
Thomas Paris doesn't
Excalbian Kahless doesn't, specifies end time
Borg Queen specifies
Vina specifies and specifies end time

So, 3 peeps don't tell you when they can gain/change skills.
User avatar
 
By Ensign Q
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
#541150
i always assumed they have both skills in a "schroedinger state", until you observe (use) one.
User avatar
 
By geraldkw
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#541806
Ensign Q wrote: Sat Jan 30, 2021 7:18 am i always assumed they have both skills in a "schroedinger state", until you observe (use) one.
Yes this is how I treated it.

Haha! I love these 2English stuff that comes up- […]

I see an add for a new expansion with a Breen […]

When using the card search and checking Jem'Hadar […]

A day late, but all results are in. Let's go! ROU[…]