Armus is right, although that gives me an idea.
You could, in theory, discard a card from hand, then use Kitara
to hit yourself with Souls of the Dead
at suspends-play speed, removing the card from your discard pile in the middle of ore processing. Now you have an empty discard pile, just as Process Ore: Mining is telling you to place a card from your discard pile out-of-play.
I believe that would cause the action to fail. You would not get the draw. You may even have to undo the entire action, including the special download. (But this is so esoteric, I doubt it will come up very often.)
EDIT: Oh, no, hang on, that doesn't work after all: your Souls of the Dead will discard after resolving and will therefore be in the discard pile when the suspends-play ends and the Process Ore: Mining resumes.
Rules Manager | Official Rulings in blue
. All else opinion. | Rules Archive
"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."