I don't have a chance right at the moment to check the assimilation rules word-for-word like I usually do before answering questions, so take this with a grain of salt and confirm it against the rules. But I think this is what's up:
In 1997, when Borg came out, Decipher created the first rules about personnel assimilation. According to those rules, when a personnel is assimilated as a drone, it gains a Borg staffing icon and associated attributes, its classification becomes its first-listed skill, it retains its skills, and it loses all other characteristics
, including title, species, anything in lore, even its icons and restriction boxes. William T. Riker would be assimilated as Third of Twenty: Titleless Drone (or the moral equivalent of that).
I think that's what @Iron Prime
is thinking of.
In 2001, when The Borg expansion set came out, Decipher rewrote this rule, but didn't do a particularly good job (IMHO) of calling attention to some of the subtle changes in the new rule. One of those changes is that Borg drones now retain
most of their characteristics and icons, with the exception of gender.
Therefore, post-2001, it is my understanding (without double-checking the rules) that a William T. Riker
assimilated as a drone will be able to activate the Riker Maneuver
P.S. And, yes, the fact that restriction boxes are retained now could have very amusing
repercussions if you assimilate Solkar
Rules Manager | Official Rulings in blue
. All else opinion. | Rules Archive
"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."