quick question: Can Visit Cochrane Memorial PLAY on Mirror Earth? (Not seed!)
I remember this thingy that Headquarters can play at Mirror missions (but not seed).
cards are often written from the perspective of the mirror universe. When a card refers to a planet by name, it means the Mirror Quadrant version of that planet. All other named references to planets (in lore or gametext) mean the normal-universe versions of that planet (unless otherwise specified). For example, The City of B'Hala may seed only at the Alpha Quadrant version of Bajor (Alter Records); Mirror Terok Nor, which has the icon, may seed only at the version of Bajor (Disrupt Alliance).(This rule used to be different, at one point references to planets could refer to either the normal-universe or mirror version. This is probably what you're remembering. Facilities still have to seed in their native quadrant, but can be built in a non-native quadrant -- so you can't seed Chamber of Ministers on Mirror Bajor. You used to be able to build it, but with the updated rules on naming planets, you can't.)
BCSWowbagger wrote: ↑Sun Sep 12, 2021 3:57 pm That answer is correct.I mean the best thing would be to reverse the planet ruling and just errata Stop First Contact to only work on Non Mirror Earth.
Here is SOME HISTORY because I have it.
On 2000-12-06, Mirror, Mirror was released.
On 2001-01-29, Decipher ruled that planet references include mirror planets. Thus, City of B'hala could seed beneath Mirror Bajor.
On 2001-06-25, Decipher extended that ruling to regions. Region references included mirror regions. Thus, Navigate Plasma Storms could blow up your ship in the Mirror Quadrant.
On 2017-02-17, the Rules Committee reversed the ruling about planets. This was because Mirror Earth had been released, and the Rules Committee wanted to prevent Borg players from using Stop First Contact in the Mirror Quadrant on Mirror Earth to wipe out Alpha Quadrant Federation players. (Also, the way it would work was just confusing, since Montana Missile Complex is unambiguously an Alpha Quadrant time location.)
However, the Rules Committee did not notice the old ruling about regions, and therefore left it in place.
Eventually, the Rules Committee did notice the old ruling about regions, but by then it was too late -- a genre of decks had been developed that combined with using They Call Themselves The Maquis. Changing the rule would break all those decks. (Changing the rule would also make Navigate Plasma Storms work weird.)
The Rules Committee had very little ability and very great reluctance at the time to issue errata.
So now we have a strange situation where references to mirror planets work different from references to weird regions. It's been on my list to fix for ages, but (1) I'm not certain what the right fix is (and would have to sell the Committee on any fix anyway), and (2) my list is very large, I only have time to do about one item per month, and nobody ever complains about this one.
AllenGould wrote: ↑Tue Jan 18, 2022 10:14 amI think the Maquis *characters* would have mirror Counterparts, but given the different geopolitical (spatiopolitical?) developments on that side of things, I'm not sure the Maquis *organization* would exist as such.
Sykes FW Wisniewski 100-0. Thanks for the game, […]
Approximately a month and a half later, is this st[…]
We've had our first Regional tournament conclude! […]
ROUND FOUR PAIRINGS Julius Melhardt vs. D'ell Dan[…]