This forums is for questions, answers, and discussion about First Edition rules, formats, and expansions.
User avatar
 
By PantsOfTheTalShiar (Jason Tang)
 - Delta Quadrant
 -  
Contender
#570114
Armus wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 10:32 am
KazonPADD wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 10:23 am Absolute Power or Reman Sacrifice?
Reman Sacrifice wouldn't work as I'm not looking at Remans.

Absolute Power *could* work, but that begs the question: can I kill a personnel to unstop my augments if I have zero augments in play? (Or zero stopped augments? Or zero matching augments? Or zero stopped matching augments?) Or is that not a legal move since I don't have all the targets? Can I pay a cost for zero effect?

(I know it works in 2e, but that obviously doesn't help here)
I would say "all" can mean 0, like how Not So Demilitarized works "while all your facilities are [1E-Maq] " and no such facilities exist.
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#570167
JeBuS wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:34 pm "All" can mean 0 the same way that "most" can mean 0.
So, you get to unstop all your personnel, because they're all equally the most augment-y? ;)
User avatar
Director of Operations
By JeBuS (Brian S)
 - Director of Operations
 -  
Socialite
#570168
AllenGould wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 11:29 am
JeBuS wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:34 pm "All" can mean 0 the same way that "most" can mean 0.
So, you get to unstop all your personnel, because they're all equally the most augment-y? ;)
It doesn't say anything about me that I first read that as "argument-y", right? :shifty:
User avatar
Online OP Coordinator
By pfti (Jon Carter)
 - Online OP Coordinator
 -  
Praetor
1E American National Champion 2020
2E The Neutral Zone Regional Champion 2021
#570174
There is no superlative. Augment is a binary condition. so you have augments or you dont.
User avatar
 
By Armus (Brian Sykes)
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Goateed
Community Contributor
1E American National Second Runner-Up 2020
#570177
pfti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 12:38 pm There is no superlative. Augment is a binary condition. so you have augments or you dont.
I'm pretty sure that @AllenGould was being tongue-in-cheek with that one.
User avatar
 
 - The Center of the Galaxy
 -  
Continuing Committee Member - Retired
Community Contributor
#570183
Armus wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 1:02 pm
pfti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 12:38 pm There is no superlative. Augment is a binary condition. so you have augments or you dont.
I'm pretty sure that @AllenGould was being tongue-in-cheek with that one.
Well, it does illustrate the weirdness in the argument that you can not count as "all X" but *can* be the "most X", and when I have ever turned down an opportunity to poke fun at 1E weirdness?

(Answer: actually a lot, if I can't think of a good* joke.)

(* quality of joke subject to change, terms and conditions apply.)
User avatar
 
 - Beta Quadrant
 -  
#570212
Armus wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 10:32 am
KazonPADD wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 10:23 am Absolute Power or Reman Sacrifice?
Reman Sacrifice wouldn't work as I'm not looking at Remans.

Absolute Power *could* work, but that begs the question: can I kill a personnel to unstop my augments if I have zero augments in play? (Or zero stopped augments? Or zero matching augments? Or zero stopped matching augments?) Or is that not a legal move since I don't have all the targets? Can I pay a cost for zero effect?

(I know it works in 2e, but that obviously doesn't help here)
I posed a question about an empty U.S.S. Valiant with an M-5 Computer and Training Cruise and it was said that 0 non-cadets and 0 cadets meets the requirement for TC so I imagine this works the same way.

Cards of reference: Full Complement of Shuttles[…]

Good times though! :cheersL: I concur. Good […]

Third post in the thread. We Are Back was surmis[…]

Come play Tribbles tonight! https://www.trekcc.org[…]