The rulebook says:
Executing Orders -- Infiltrate wrote: Your personnel who have a diamond-shaped <Baj> <Car> <Dom> <Fed> <Kli> <Rom> <Maq> infiltration icon may infiltrate your opponent's cards if they are compatible with that affiliation (or faction). Such cards may join the opponent's side in one of two ways: by reporting to your opponent's compatible facility, ship, or Away Team as if one of your opponent's cards (you may ignore quadrant restrictions), or by joining an opponent's compatible crew or Away Team where present (even during your opponent's turn).The glossary says
infiltration icon wrote: Your personnel who has a diamond shaped infiltration icon may infiltrate your opponent's cards, if your opponent has played or seeded face-up a card of that affiliation or faction, in one of two ways:The Glossary has a stipulation that your opponent must have played a card of that affiliation or faction before infiltrating; the Rulebook does not.
[*]It may report to your opponent's side of the table, to a facility (and crew or Away Team, if any) which it will be compatible with when infiltrating (regardless of quadrant); or
[*]It may report for duty normally, and infiltrate later in the game, during either player's turn, if present with an opponent's crew or Away Team which it will be compatible with when infiltrating.
If your opponent has not played or seeded face-up a card of that affiliation or faction, you may not infiltrate their cards with that personnel. See faction.
If I'm remembering my history correctly, the Rulebook has the original version of the rule. It was changed to the Glossary version when someone figured out that seeding Memory Wipe would let you infiltrate with anybody. Can anyone else confirm this? Or am I missing something else entirely in the rulebook that brings it in line with the glossary?