I partially agree and partially disagree with that answer. Disagreement first:
FranklinKenter wrote: ↑Mon Jul 11, 2022 3:09 pm
Once the game has started, simply means that you must be "playing Borg" in order to use the card.
I don't think
has any in-game effect whatsoever.
is strictly an icon that limits deck construction. As long as you have a legal deck (meaning your
cards were stocked in a deck that included at least one
affiliation card and no cards belong to other affiliations), the
cards within that deck can be used freely, whether or not you are currently legally "playing Borg".
In the strange case they "hit" with their "off-color Beam", they will assimilate one of your personnel, but they will be under house arrest.
In the specific case of Test For Weakness
, since the battle is against your facility (not a ship), and since Borg Cutting Beam requires your ship to be involved in the battle, I think the entire gametext fizzles. The Attack/Defense bonus work and the damage works, but nobody gets assimilated.
Otherwise, in the situation you mention with (for example) Alien Parasites taking over a non-[Bor] ship, I do agree with you that the personnel would be relocated to the non-[Bor] ship and placed under house arrest.
Incidentally, the specific definition of "playing Borg" has been removed from the glossary.
Not moved, but merged. There is no longer one definition for "playing an affiliation or faction (non-Borg)" and a second, slightly different definition for "playing Borg." This merger occurred in June 2020.
You are correct that a player is not officially "playing Borg" until he or she seeds or plays a
-affiliation card. (This is how it has worked for other affiliations since Glossary 1.7.) It is therefore indeed possible that a Borg Scout Drop player (such as you describe) will not be officially "playing Borg" until some point in the Play Phase, which is a change from past behavior.
However, since the
cards work regardless, that should not pose a problem to using the Borg Cutting Beam. (It could
pose a problem if your opponent encounters your seeded Borg Servo or Defrosted Menace before you put a
card on the table.)
Rules Manager | Official Rulings in blue
. All else opinion. | Rules Archive
"We pledge our loyalty to the Glossary from now until death."
"Then receive this reward from the Glossary. May it keep you strong."