Discuss all of your questions, concerns, comments and ideas about Second Edition.
User avatar
 
By Danny (Daniel Giddings)
 - Gamma Quadrant
 -  
Wanderer
2E British National Runner-Up 2021
2E The Neutral Zone Regional Champion 2025
#644275
If my Devoras is at my opponent's mission, and more than one of their personnel gets killed by a single dilemma (e.g., Tsiolkovsky Infection, Whisper), am I able to drop multiple personnel with equal costs to personnel being killed, or just the one?
User avatar
 
By Danny (Daniel Giddings)
 - Gamma Quadrant
 -  
Wanderer
2E British National Runner-Up 2021
2E The Neutral Zone Regional Champion 2025
#644278
Cheers. I thought that was the case, but needed verification. :thumbsup:
User avatar
Executive Officer
By jadziadax8 (Maggie Geppert)
 - Executive Officer
 -  
The Traveler
1E North American Continental Quarter-Finalist 2024
2E North American Continental Semi-Finalist 2024
#644284
Nope. The kills from Whisper or Cheeto Infection happen simultaneously, so they are one trigger. Decipher ruled them that way in the Bad Old Days where Tragic Turn + Cheeto could net you 6 kills. The NecEx kills happen individually, so are their own triggers.
User avatar
Second Edition Proofreading Manager
By Cmdr Xym (Joseph Bazemore)
 - Second Edition Proofreading Manager
 -  
Chancellor
#644286
jadziadax8 wrote: Mon Jun 23, 2025 9:38 am Nope. The kills from Whisper or Cheeto Infection happen simultaneously, so they are one trigger. Decipher ruled them that way in the Bad Old Days where Tragic Turn + Cheeto could net you 6 kills. The NecEx kills happen individually, so are their own triggers.
That's completely counterintuitive. They cards should do what they say they do.

Since TT was errata'd to prevent those shenanigans (a LONG time ago), it would seem that antiquated ruling isn't really needed anymore.
User avatar
 
By Danny (Daniel Giddings)
 - Gamma Quadrant
 -  
Wanderer
2E British National Runner-Up 2021
2E The Neutral Zone Regional Champion 2025
#644287
I did find the relevant entries in the rulebook to clear things up (?):

Response actions – The game text of a response action always begins with the word ‘When’ and has a trigger describing the situation that allows you to use that game text. Any time the trigger is met, you may use the text one time.

and

Some dilemmas cause more than one personnel to be killed, stopped, or placed in a brig. A dilemma that does this will kill, stop, or place those personnel in a brig as one action, unless they are listed as separate actions. Any response actions will only trigger once when multiple personnel are affected by a single action during a mission attempt. For example: if Tragic Turn is on a mission and three personnel are selected to be killed by one action, only one additional personnel will be killed.

@VictoryIsLife do you want back in? They fixed t[…]

[Fer] 3 • Ornithar, Ready to Deal [Cmd] Ka[…]

Ornithar, Ready to Deal has lore , but his entr[…]

I think this discussion needs multiple polls becau[…]